[MUSIC] THAT ‘XX’ by G-Dragon

 

i’m probably late in this but i’m currently obsessing over this song by G-Dragon from his 1st EP (mini album) “ONE of a Kind”

 

What is That XX (그 XX)? 

XX actually represents the “bleep” placed over “gae-sekki” which means That Bastard (some says ‘saekki’ is Fuck). Korean Government “censorship agency” MOGEF (Ministry of Gender Equality and Family) is notorious for some of it’s irrational banning of songs AND videos so YGEnt and GD released a clean version of “that XX” that bleeps the curse word.

That XX is actually a sad but beautiful song. far different from G-dragon’s usual releases with it’s clean acoustic strumming. it’s beautiful.

the song is basically GD telling the girl that he loves that this girl is dating a cheating bastard and that she knows it but is too in love with the guy that she’s turning blind eye over it. and that he is hurting too and that he wants the share the pain that the girl is feeling.

That XX, what does he have that I don’t
Why can’t I have you
That XX doesn’t love you
How much longer are you going to cry yourself silly?

The Music Video (BEEP version)

the thing about the MV though is GD represents the cheating bastard. LOL. i don’t watch the video that much coz the lead girl, Jenny Kim is a minor, so i feel awkward watching the video. it also bothered me that GD wore more make-up than Jenny. Cake face.

The uncensored version of the song is released on Music portal sites but is Rated 19 so minors cannot buy it. i think the album itself is also Rated 19 so.. anyway this is the “uncensored version” of the song.

G-Dragon performed an acoustic version of “That XX” on September 23, for the first in Inkigayo with no less than Sungha Jung, a popular Korean Guitarist, who before PSY, was the most subscribed korean on Youtube.

COVERS

the song is quite popular and a lot of people made cover versions of it. i have 3 favorites at the moment.

Sungha Jung’s Guitar Cover

Jun Sung Ahn’s Violin Cover

and this one is special, HAZEL FAITH’s tagalog version of that XX (‘tong P*tang To’) lmao

Hazel Faith is not unknown to covering songs. she previously won an ETC contest for Glee that led her to tour the Glee set in the USA and she even had a small cameo as a cheerleader.

the LYRICS

THAT XX English Translation:

Walking on the street, I bumped into your man (Yeah I saw him)
I didn’t want to believe it, but my hunch turned out right (I told you)
He’s not wearing that ring you gave him, there’s another girl by his side
But I’ve said enough (I don’t wanna hurt you)

Now you’re getting angry with me (Why?)
You say “He’s definitely not that kind of person” (Sure you’re right)
Seeing your eyes, I reply that I probably got it wrong
See, I lied for you (I’m sorry)

I hate that you don’t understand me
I hate all this waiting
Let go of his hand (break it off with him)
When you’re sad, I feel like I’m dying

That XX, what does he have that I don’t
Why can’t I have you
That XX doesn’t love you
How much longer are you going to cry yourself silly?

When you speak of him, you look so happy (you look happy)
It’s good that you can be this happy (I’m happy)
You say you really love him, want to be with him forever
You trust him completely (I don’t know what to say no more)
Your friends all know that guy (yup they know)
It’s so obvious, why can’t you see (it’s you)
They say love is blind, Oh baby, you’re so blind
Please, I beg you, break it off

Oh I hate that you don’t understand me
I hate all this waiting
Let go of his hand (break it off with him)
When you’re sad, I feel like I’m dying

That XX, what does he have that I don’t
Why can’t I have you
That XX doesn’t love you
How much longer are you going to cry yourself silly?

Rap)
Expensive cars, beautiful clothes, high-class restaurants, they all suit you well
But that XX beside you, he doesn’t suit you, he really doesn’t
He smiles like a hypocrite with you, brushing your face and hair
But he’s thinking of another woman for sure, how dare he
The amount of tears you’ve cried, I want to make you happy by the same amount, baby
Rather than going through the pain alone, share some with me, baby
Please look at me, why can’t you realise that I am your love
Why are you the only one who doesn’t know

That XX, what does he have that I don’t
Why can’t I have you
That XX doesn’t love you
How much longer are you going to cry yourself silly?

That XX, what does he have that I don’t
Why can’t I have you
That XX doesn’t love you
How much longer are you going to cry yourself silly?
sources:

BIGBANG Official Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/BIGBANG
JUNG SUNGHA Official Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/jwcfree
JUN SUNG AHN Official Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/JuNCurryAhn/
HAZEL FAITH Official Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/HazelFaithTV
KPOP lyrics: http://www.kpoplyrics.net/g-dragon-that-xx-lyrics-english-romanized.html#ixzz2CBgz4N8N@kpoplyrics_net on Twitter | kpoplyricsnet on Facebook
Leave a Reply

